ALIVE: Galatians 2:20

As I prep for my last message as a student pastor this Sunday I have amazing people I shared life with in South Florida on my mind. I will not attempt to name names but you each know who you are. Just so you all know, the time I spent at Sheridan Hills Baptist as Student Pastor was so rich. I not only had the privilege of leading some of the most amazing people in the world I had a blast. Whether it was a DNOW, camp in Tennessee, Middle School VBS, or just our weekly ministry in the Heights I had so much fun sharing the gospel and life with each of you. I still consider SHBC my home church because it was there that my relationship with Jesus first started in 1996.

Whether it was in my kitchen making up some Oreo Shakes and hanging with you, in a hospital room visiting you, at your school’s First Priority meeting, on a football field, at your chapel, or at Wings and Curls. Whether it was in my office, in the Oak Grove, or at Angelo’s on the beach, whether it was at relay for life camping on the field, at a DNOW, or at Horns Creek Resort. Whether it was on one of our famous road trips (bus always broke down), or outside in the parking lot after church. Whether it was in the Heights after church on stage or in a chair talking through life. Whether it was sitting at the picnic tables, or on the football field, or playing broomball or paintball. Whether it was at Liz’s house worshipping to Hosanna poolside (I will never forget that Kevin Wright) with the Thunder and lighting in the distance. Whether it was in the baptistry or at the beach. Whether it was at a tragic funeral or at your graduation. Whether it was in a group or one on one, in person or on the phone. I still remember each and everyone of you. I remember the laughs, the tears, the fun and the pain. God used each of you to help me lead better, to love more and preach harder and more genuine than I ever had before.

I feel so loved  when I am with my kids from ALIVE. We were and still are a family. I am better for being part of each of your lives. So even though the ALIVE car stickers have faded, the signs have come down and been replaced, and the d-now and camp t-shirts are too small or have become sleep shirts,please know this- there isn’t a day that goes by when I am not reminded of God’s work in me through each of you and the great privilege I had to lead you at Sheridan Hills. It is those memories that give me confidence to continue leading and to continue being used by God to shape generations to come!

I LOVE YOU ALL SO MUCH!

” I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.” -Galatians 2:20 (NIV)

About goodlifefl

Loving People Enough to Share the Gospel and Life 1 Thess. 2:8 View all posts by goodlifefl

One response to “ALIVE: Galatians 2:20

  • Tiff

    Jason!!!!! We love you! Come back and visit us all soon. Jason Straussman is going to PBA and I’m currently at UCF…. crazy to think that you were the one God used to bring us to Himself in the first place. God bless, Hope to talk to you soon. -Tiffany VanDesande

Leave a Reply

