Seek First

The structure of Good Life, the funding of Good Life, the theology of Good Life, the ministry partnerships of Good Life, the neighborhood of Good Life, the budget for Good Life, the denomination of Good Life, all of this running through my heart and mind this morning as I sat down to open up the Word. Worries, anxiety, and unknowns have become my day-to-day as a church planter and there are moments when I simply feel alone. With so many things to think about right now Jesus reminded me this morning through a 2,000 year old message that my energies are to be spent on one pursuit. 

Matthew 6:33-34

“But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

I am in the process of making many preliminary decisions for the direction of Good Life Church, all seem to be much more difficult than I first thought. Whether it is choosing the values of the church, establishing the structure of the church, or even selecting the ministry partnerships for the church I am overwhelmed with the “what ifs”. What if I choose wrong? What if I make a decision that can hurt our ability to reach people in the future? What if I don’t fill a void in my own leadership ability? 

Jesus spoke in the midst of my confusion. “Seek the Kingdom of God, Seek the Righteousness of God, Jason. You will find your needs met and your daily decisions to be less overwhelming. Walk with me and I will guide you. Don’t allow anxiety about tomorrow rob you of the joy of journeying with me today.You will never be able to lead Good Life unless you daily live the Good Life. Share the Gospel and Share Life. Keep it simple and I will take care of you.”

I left my time this morning energized and excited. 

__________

Good Life Update

I applied for our 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation status and within the next week will hear back from the State of Florida and Good Life Church will be able to begin receiving direct donations and offerings. (HUGE THANK YOU TO CLINT PENTECOST!) With the end of the year coming up many will make decisions about how they plan to give to close out 2011. Please pray that those who are able to give do so towards the work God has in store through Good Life Church and the community of Bradenton/Sarasota. 

About goodlifefl

Loving People Enough to Share the Gospel and Life 1 Thess. 2:8 View all posts by goodlifefl

Leave a Reply

