Good Life Journal-Proverbs 3

 Scripture:

Prov. 3:5 ¶     Trust in the LORD with all your heart and do not lean on your own understanding. Prov. 3:6        In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.

 

Observation:

Solomon writes as a Father to his son giving him advice for life. He encourages him to choose wisdom and not folly. He talks specifically about the connection between wisdom and trusting God. Wisdom is not trusting our own instincts, but rather learning to trust the voice and leadership of God. Acknowledging Him in our journey is connected with a smoother, better and more purposeful life.

 

Application:

  1. Deny selfreliance.

Prov. 3:5 ¶   Trust in the LORD with all your heart,

                        and do not lean on your own understanding.

(Ps. 62:5, John 15:5, 1 Cor. 2:2)

 I don’t trust myself, but I trust in God. Might be the most freeing confession of your life.

Solomon encourages people to place their entire trust into the hands of God. With all our heart. Not even a crevice that is untrusting of God.

Psa. 62:5 ¶    For God alone, O my soul, wait in silence,

                        for my hope is from him.

These are the words of Solomon’s father, King David. I love this word picture. Waiting on God. Waiting in silence, knowing that our only hope is His movement in our lives.

 John 15:5 I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing.

 Jesus in one of his final teachings to the apostles doesn’t say, now you are ready go and change the world. He says, you need me. Without an understanding and application of total reliance your life will be fruitless.

 But some would say. Come on. I have so much to offer. I have so much wisdom, so much experience. I am a self-made man. I am a survivor. A fighter, a warrior. I can make a difference in this world on that alone. I will bring what I bring to the table and when I run out, I will then go back to the well, get filled up and then go back out. Yet this is not the life God has called us to, a life of self-reliance until it gets to hard and then a reliance of God until he gets us out of the situational. Situational submission isn’t the intended posture for our lives.

 Even in our strong areas.

 1Cor. 2:2 For I decided to know nothing among you except Jesus Christ and him crucified.

  1. De-compartmentalize our lives.

Prov. 3:6a      In all your ways acknowledge him,

(Matt. 22:37-40, Gal. 2:20)

For many of us, our faith in Christ is part of our lives. For some, it is a small slice of the pie of our lives. Yet, what is being described by Solomon is a faith in God that floods all areas. In all our ways.

 Our Sunday mornings, sure

Marriages

Families

Finances

Calendars

Business’

Dreams

Aspirations

Hobbies

Relationships

Politics

Vacations

Music and Entertainment

Health

Dress

What we read

What we watch

What we say

What we think 

In all our ways, acknowledge Him. Stop for just a moment.

I believe the great mistake that we make is that we think the goal is for Jesus to be part of our life. For us to fit Him into our already somewhat filled lives.

Matt. 22:37 And he said to him, “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.

Matt. 22:38 This is the great and first commandment.

Matt. 22:39 And a second is like it: You shall love your neighbor as yourself.

Matt. 22:40 On these two commandments depend all the Law and the Prophets.”

 What if we dropped everything else today and just said, this is my new pursuit in my life. To love God with everything I have and to love other people as much as I love myself.

 Gal. 2:20 I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.

  1. Decline the crooked paths.

Prov. 3:6b and he will make straight your paths.

Throughout Proverbs, there is a theme.

Proverbs teaches that those who follow wisdom have an easier, less problematic life (e.g., 3:10, 16, 24-25).

This doesn’t mean that following Jesus will make life easier. Jesus told us otherwise. But what this does mean is that pursuing wisdom as opposed to folly will help you avoid unnecessary difficulties.

Paths aren’t necessarily good or bad. It really matters where you are going. Paths become problematic when they are taking you someplace you don’t belong or isn’t your intended goal. It all goes back to the end goal. I believe that every person has a purpose. Some of Noble purpose and others for common. Both are important. Everybody has an appointed goal from God. We are here for that reason. But many of us choose ignore this and make our own goals and then try to use God to accomplish our goals. Yet what we learn here is that the paths are before us to lead us to the appointed goal. Yet, our paths will be crooked and difficult because our destination is different than the path before us. So we try to make the path, our path ending only in confusion, difficulty and trouble.

In the subject of eternity there is only one way.

John 14:6 Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.

Crooked paths in regards to eternity are any path that leads away from Christ.

Crooked paths in life are any paths that lead you away from God’s intended purpose. It don’t matter how nice the view is, or how light the traffic is, who cares if it takes you someplace you aren’t supposed to be.

Acknowledging Him in everything you do will ensure that path you are taking is the right one. Ignoring Him, and distancing yourself from intimacy with him increases your chances of taking crooked paths.

Prayer:

Father, Help me trust you, your voice, your scripture, your Spirit more than my own conscience, or my own finite knowledge. I don’t want to rely on me and my strength. That never gets me very far. Lord help me de-compartmentalize my life. I don’t want to have you as part but I want your Lordship over every part. I get in trouble when I only give you part. Father help me grasp that the straightness or crookedness of the path is in direct connection to the destination. A path is crooked when it leads me astray from the intended goal. Help me stay focused, know those goals you have laid out for me and follow after them step by step.

 Thank you for making eternity clear. There is one Path. Thank you Jesus.

About goodlifefl

Loving People Enough to Share the Gospel and Life 1 Thess. 2:8 View all posts by goodlifefl

Leave a Reply

