Good Life Journal – Proverbs 4

Scripture-
Proverbs 4:3-4 When I was a son with my father, tender, the only one in the sight of my mother, he taught me and said to me,“Let your heart hold fast my words;keep my commandments, and live. 

Observation-
Solomon shares that his quest and desire for wisdom started because as a young boy his father, David, told him that wisdom was the most important resource. If he were to pursue or get anything, it should be wisdom and insight.
Knowing the story, when God asked Solomon what of all things he wanted, Solomon choose wisdom to rule wisely. Solomon knew what mattered most and his fathers values and furthermore his insight and experience were passed on to his son because his son was receptive. David was not a perfect man. He made many mistakes, yet he was a faithful father to Solomon and spoke truth and life to him. Solomon was a product of an involved and caring Father. Though David was ruling the kingdom, he still carved out time to have important conversations with his young son that ended up shaping his life, his character and furthermore the entire nation that Solomon led.

Application-
A few questions.

Do I believe enough in the legacy I will leave behind to take significant time out to speak into my children today?

What am I telling my children to pursue and to go after above everything?

Have I learned from my mistakes? Are my children in a better position because of the lessons I have learned and passed down to them?

I am convicted that I need to spend more time having genuine and deep conversations with my kids. Most of my conversations are either surface or corrective in nature. We are many times too busy to talk. Also when I try to talk about more important things I give up too easily if my children are resistant or seem disinterested. I commit to making more of a concerted effort at passing on important life lessons to my kids. I must keep in mind that they will have to make major decisions in their lives and I need to help model and teach them how to do that.

Prayer-
Lord we have many decisions to make as a family everyday.  Help me know when to include the children in these process. May I pass on wisdom to my kids and to the generations to come because I wasn’t too busy or preoccupied to pull them aside and share important lessons.

About goodlifefl

Loving People Enough to Share the Gospel and Life 1 Thess. 2:8 View all posts by goodlifefl

Leave a Reply

