Good Life Journal – Proverbs 8

Scripture-

(Proverbs 8:22-23 ESV)

“The LORD possessed me at the beginning of his work, the first of his acts of old. Ages ago I was set up, at the first, before the beginning of the earth.”

(Proverbs 8:29-31 ESV)

“when he assigned to the sea its limit, so that the waters might not transgress his command, when he marked out the foundations of the earth, then I was beside him, like a master workman, and I was daily his delight, rejoicing before him always, rejoicing in his inhabited world and delighting in the children of man.”

 

Observation-

Proverbs 8 talks about the immensity and the eternal aspect of Wisdom and its relationship to God and throughout creation into the acts of man.

Application-

I tend to view Wisdom pragmatically: Wisdom keeps me out of trouble; keeps from acting foolish; protects me from foolish mistakes and shows me a wise path to follow. A very pragmatic tool. I also tend to relate wisdom to 2 other things: Experience and Intelligence.

Experience can be defined as that accumulation of acts, activities, and the impact of decisions (right and wrong) that shapes future decisions to be more of the “right” persuasion and less of the “wrong.” Intelligence is that gathering of knowledge, learning, and data that we base decisions upon. Neither one of these are “wisdom” in itself but wisdom has these items in it.

But now I see that Wisdom is so much more than that. Wisdom was God’s first act. I don’t know what that means totally but it sure makes emphasis on the value of Wisdom. God delights daily about Wisdom. Wisdom rejoices in God, in Creation, and delights in Man.

It makes the importance of asking for and getting wisdom different. My perspective is changing.

Prayer-

Father: You say “if anyone lacks wisdom, let him ask of God…” I have to conclude that in many ways even when I feel wise, there may be a foolish aspect that I have not addressed or have overlooked.   Lord: I ask for Wisdom, lavishly, broadly, enthusiastically, soberly, joyfully, and with intention. I haven’t the Wisdom I need or want. I ask in Jesus’ name knowing and confidently acknowledging that I am not asking for something You don’t want to answer—You are certainly faithful to answer this because it is absolutely in accordance with Your Will.

About goodlifefl

Loving People Enough to Share the Gospel and Life 1 Thess. 2:8 View all posts by goodlifefl

Leave a Reply

