Good Life Journal – Proverbs 14

Scripture:
Proverbs 14:3 “A fool’s mouth lashes out with pride, but the lips of the wise protect them.” NIV

Observation:
Solomon often talks about pride.
11:2 “When pride cometh, then comes shame: but with the lowly is wisdom.”
29:23 “A man’s pride shall bring him low: but honor shall uphold the humble in spirit.”
Surely, the sin of pride was on the mind of Solomon in his day. It is amazing how the issues and sins of thousands of years ago are the same issues and sins that we battle today. Thankfully, God gives us his word, the Bible, as an eternal “owners manual” for our life.
How many sins that we commit are an offshoot of our pride? Wars and killings result from pride. People steal because of pride. How many times are lies told because of pride?

Application:
In my life I am often battling with my pride. I want things to go my way, I want people to think well of me. When dealing with friends and family, I often cling to my ideas or ways, because of pride. Often I miss seeing the other side because I want to be right. The verse says, “The lips of the wise protect them.” How is that? By not speaking out in pride. I must try harder to be more wise and humble. Then pride will be less prominent in my life.

Prayer:
Father, your word is eternal. Your wisdom is what I need.
Keep me burning with desire for your wisdom.
Keep me aware when pride creeps into my life.
Keep me humble, for I am a sinner just like everyone else.

-Don Jankowski

About goodlifefl

Loving People Enough to Share the Gospel and Life 1 Thess. 2:8 View all posts by goodlifefl

Leave a Reply

