Good Life Journal – Proverbs 26

 

Scripture:

Proverbs 26:15

The sluggard buries his hand in the dish; it wears him out to bring it back to his mouth.

Observation: This proverb is a funny way to illustrate the epitome of how foolish it is to be lazy. Laziness leads to poverty and ultimately death. In comparison, a hardworking person is viewed a sensible/wise with their output leading to wealth and life. Work is an important part of God’s plan for us all, even though it is not the ultimate purpose.

Application: If God put work in His creation plan and viewed it as dignified, then I need to understand the role of work in my life. I should be thankful for the opportunity that I have to work. By choosing not to work, I would be squandering the talents God has given me and this would be a poor example of stewardship. This is an important part of God’s plan for all of His people to embrace as we are living in a time where it is just as easy to receive subsidies as it is to put in a hard day’s work. As I write this, I ponder is there a correlation in America with a turn from God to a decreased work ethic and reliance on the state? Romans 12:11 says, “Never be lazy, work hard and serve the Lord enthusiastically.”

Prayer:

Father,

Thank you for your grace upon me and giving me the opportunity to work. Please help me to remember work is not punishment or drudgery, rather part of your plan. Let me work with a servant’s heart for you.

-Todd Dawson

About goodlifefl

Loving People Enough to Share the Gospel and Life 1 Thess. 2:8 View all posts by goodlifefl

Leave a Reply

