Good Life Journal – Proverbs 28

Scripture:  

 Proverbs 28:25-26

 25: the greedy stir up conflict, but those who trust in the Lord will prosper.

26: Those who trust in themselves are fools, but those who walk in wisdom are kept safe.

Observation:

 Here Solomon talks about trust. Who do you put your trust in? Yourself or God? In verse 26 he states, those who trust in themselves are fools. In 25 he says, those who trust in the Lord will prosper. Even in his day people were captured by pride and ego. Solomon has to remind us all that God is the one that your trust and faith should be in.

 Application:

 In my life I have had to learn to not trust myself, but put all my trust and faith in God. It is hard and I struggle with this. I want to feel like I can overcome any obstacle and conquer any challenge. I think, it is on me to create my own destiny. Then I get wise and realize that that kind of thinking is just pride and ego. 

It has only been in the last few years that events have occurred that have forced me to change my thinking and trust in the Lord. I have come to realize that without Christ I am a sinner and I can do nothing. It is only with His grace and power that I can overcome. The verse says that those who trust in themselves are fools. It really couldn’t be any clearer than that. Why trust in my limited ability when I can trust in God’s limitless power? God can bless me and overcome in ways that I can’t even imagine. 

Still ego creeps in and I want to take all of the credit. Today even, I still struggle with this. Verse 25 … those who trust in the Lord will prosper.. I have to live that every day in my life.

 Prayer:

 Father, often ego and pride creep into my life.

Remind me that if I trust in myself, then I am a fool.   

Remind me that if I trust in you, I will prosper.

Remind me that your power is limitless, and without you, I am powerless and without true direction.

It is only by Your grace and power that I have hope.

Amen

– Don J

About goodlifefl

Loving People Enough to Share the Gospel and Life 1 Thess. 2:8 View all posts by goodlifefl

Leave a Reply

