Good Life Journal – Acts 14

Scripture:
Acts 14:15 “Men, why are you doing these things? We also are men, of like nature with you, and we bring you good news, that you should turn from these vain things to a living God, who made the heaven and the earth and the sea and all that is in them.

Observation:
After Paul heals a crippled man the city is quick to worship. The problem is they want to worship Paul and Barnabas, not the God who made the healing possible. The people call Paul and Barnabas by the names of their gods and are prepared to make sacrifices on their behalf. Paul and Barnabas stop them and make it clear that they are just normal men who came with a purpose of sharing the good news of Jesus Christ.

Implication/Application:
1. People were made to worship. That’s why it is so easy for us to do it. The problem is that most people waste their life worshipping false gods and things that don’t deserve worship.
2. People will try to worship spiritual leaders. Since most are blinded to God they will worship anything that appears to be spiritual. Unfortunately sometimes people place church leaders on a pedestal and begin worshipping them.
3. Godly leaders will redirect the worship to God. Godly leaders will rebuke/correct people if their worship is misdirected, even if that means they themselves will receive little or no praise or benefit.
4. Godly leaders are mission minded. Paul and Barnabas had a purpose, preaching the Gospel. Because their purpose was crystal clear they weren’t distracted when people tried to worship them.

I have never had someone try to sacrifice anything to me but I have had some people who misdirected praise towards me. They sense that I am their only way to God and that I am their angel. Though to my flesh that is flattering, it is false. I am only a man. I am simple and apart from Christ, I am a disaster. Though I am grateful to get the chance to serve in ministry I must not forget I serve Jesus. I am simply his servant. When people misdirect praise, I pray I remember my role quickly and redirect their praise to Whom it belongs.

Prayer:
Father, thank you for reminding me who I really am, what I am called to do and how I should handle the praise and “worship” of the men and women you have called me to reach. I’m nothing without you.

About goodlifefl

Loving People Enough to Share the Gospel and Life 1 Thess. 2:8 View all posts by goodlifefl

Leave a Reply

