Good Life Journal – Acts 18

Scripture:  

 Acts 18:9

One night the Lord spoke to Paul in a vision: “Do not be afraid; keep on speaking, do not be silent. For I am with you, and no one is going to attack and harm you.”

Observation:

 Paul must have needed encouragement. When the Jews in the synagogue opposed Paul and became abusive, Paul shook his clothes in protest and said your blood be on your own heads. That was a pretty dramatic gesture. Could Paul have been discouraged? Did he need some reassurance? The Lord appeared to him when he needed it the most and offered reassurance. “Do not be afraid; keep on speaking, do not be silent. For I am with you, and no one is going to attack and harm you.”

 Application:

 I go thru times in my life when I need encouragement. When I was sick and having operations, I had to lean heavily on my faith in God. It was so reassuring to me to know that God was with me, “Do not be afraid; for I am with you” Knowing that God was with me, helping me to not be afraid. When I needed it most, God held me up. They operated on me a week after my first operation and I had pneumonia. I was not afraid because I knew that God was with me.

 Sometimes we wait and expect the dramatic vision. We want God to appear to us in a vision and speak to us. If we truly have God in our heart, we know that he is with us. We know to look to his Word, the Bible to hear him speak to us.

 It is easy to sing songs and say nice prayers when things are going well. However, when the world is stepping on us and we have real fear, do we remember to seek God’s word? Do we remember to… not be afraid because God is with us? Emmanuel.

 Prayer:

Father, Thank you for being with me. 

I know that when I need you most, you are with me. 

Help me to spread this faith and confidence to others.

Don’t ever let me forget… Emmanuel… God is with me.

 – Don J

About goodlifefl

Loving People Enough to Share the Gospel and Life 1 Thess. 2:8 View all posts by goodlifefl

Leave a Reply

