Good Life Journal – Acts 24

Scripture:

(Acts 24:24-25 ESV)

After some days Felix came with his wife Drusilla, who was Jewish, and he sent for Paul and heard him speak about faith in Christ Jesus. And as he reasoned about righteousness and self-control and the coming judgment, Felix was alarmed and said, “Go away for the present. When I get an opportunity I will summon you.”

 

Observation: 

Interesting passage of scripture: Paul is being presented before a judge (Felix) for various charges, some frivolous, some not.

What is interesting is how God orchestrated the situation so that Paul would be able to answer from a good conscious in an orderly manner.  Step by step, no elaboration, like a lawyer (which Paul is) he goes “I did this, and this, and this and this….”—countering the accusations of Tertullus one by one.

God, in His Wisdom, provided the judge Felix with “having an accurate knowledge of the Way…” and caused a delay in the proceedings prior to a judgment rendered.

In the meantime, there is verse 24 and 25: an inquiry to Paul to explain even more about the Way, who reasoned about “righteous, self-control, and the coming judgment.”

Application:

I think to myself “Can I do that?  Can I talk about all the various aspects about the Gospel with reason and clarity?  Am I comfortable doing that or am I a “one trick pony” when it comes to the Gospel?

Prayer:

Father, the gospel is a multifaceted diamond; in its entirety magnificent and full of Glory.  But it is multifaceted and has many parts from the Propitiation and Justification through Sanctification and onward to the coming of That Day where the Gospel becomes whole.  Please help me to be inquisitive and meditative on the Gospel each day.  Let me preach the Gospel wholly to myself daily so that I do not forget the thoroughness in which You have provided this Gift.  And let me be thorough and reasonable to others in communicating the Gospel.

-Rick Sutton

About goodlifefl

Loving People Enough to Share the Gospel and Life 1 Thess. 2:8 View all posts by goodlifefl

Leave a Reply

