Good Life Journal -Psalm 36

Scripture:

Psalm 36:1-2

Transgression speaks to the wicked deep in his heart; there is no fear of God before his eyes. For he flatters himself in his own eyes that his iniquity cannot be found out and hated.

 Observation:

David speaks from experience. The wicked have a way of lying to themselves and assuming that they are above the ramifications for their sin. The wicked don’t fear God and therefore the voice that is followed is the voice of transgression rather than the voice of God.

Application:

This verse is a lot easier to journal on until I am honest with myself long enough to recognize that I play the role of the wicked on a regular basis. There are times when the desires of my own flesh speak louder than the voice of God. The fear of God is trumped by my own selfishness and pride. The voice of God always speaks truth, yet the voice of my transgression always flatters. The flattering voice says, “Keep it up. You are above the law. Everybody will love you no matter what. God’s Law doesn’t apply to you. You are good.” Seems too good to be true, right? That is because it is. When I place myself above the law of God I am in a precarious position. Though we all love flattery we must reject it. Flattery doesn’t tell the truth that we desperately need to hear.

A few action steps…

  1. Fear God. Believe that what He says is true and therefore the things He warns against I should avoid at all costs.
  2. Don’t listen to flattery. Flattery is not God’s language. The truth is when the voice that speaks is too good to be true I know to not listen to it.
  3. Confess my sin. Don’t conceal it. All iniquity will ultimately be found out. Therefore confess my sin to God and walk in the forgiveness and grace He offers.

 Prayer:

Father I trust in you and your forgiveness. I am not above the law. Sin and iniquity always wreak havoc. Help me listen to your voice of truth and not transgression’s voice of flattery.

About goodlifefl

Loving People Enough to Share the Gospel and Life 1 Thess. 2:8 View all posts by goodlifefl

Leave a Reply

