Good Life Journal – 1Peter 1

Scripture:

1 Peter 1:17-19 And if you call on him as Father who judges impartially according to each one’s deeds, conduct yourselves with fear throughout the time of your exile, knowing that you were ransomed from the futile ways inherited from your forefathers, not with perishable things such as silver or gold, but with the precious blood of Christ, like that of a lamb without blemish or spot. 

Observation:
Peter calls the church to live in holiness as a response to the great work of God, which is the gospel. He refers to the their life prior to the gospel as “former ignorance.” He makes it clear that Jesus is the fulfillment of what the prophets spoke of and was the plan of God from the beginning. A life of holiness is lived in response to the work of Christ that made them holy and righteous in the first place. This work of God was through the blood shed by Christ. The cross, the sacrifice of Jesus is essential to the experience of holy living.

Application: 
The call to be holy is not given as a blind command. Rather through the gospel we are called to live holy lives in response to the gospel of Jesus. The seriousness of holy living is rooted in the incredible cost God paid to make us Holy. We were ransomed from a way of life that would always come up short and we have been given the chance to actually live this out successfully. Holy living is possible through the righteousness of Christ and the presence the Holy Spirit in our lives. Living Holy is also possible through the new relationship we have as God. Not simply our judge but much more importantly He plays the role of Father through the adoption made possible through Christ. I am no longer under the law but I am now a son. Therefore my holy living is accomplished through a love relationship with the creator and sustainer of the universe. My father.

A few thoughts to land on when it comes to Holy living…
I can live holy because…

1. The Father has been made known to me. I am no longer an illegitimate child wandering hopelessly in this world. I am a called out and adopted child of God. Holiness is now my nature through the presence of the Holy Spirit in my life.

2. My time on earth is a time of exile. This isn’t my home, yet I find my home in Christ. I am not simple living on earth but I am also seated with Christ in the heavenlies. I must not forget that this place is not my home. For when I do forget I get too comfortable in the systems and strategies of the world.

3. Holy living is a response. My holy living is not what initiated my relationship with God. My relationship with the Father was initiated through the Holiness of Christ and the holy and royal blood shed to ransom me. The love I now live is a response to that. When I recognize I am not the initiator I have a much better chance of responding appropriately.

4. I am without spot or blemish because Christ is without spot or blemish. Not because I have cleaned my self up but because the precious blood of Christ has washed me. As I trusted in that the moment of my salvation I trust that today. The same blood that saved me gives me strength day by day to live holy.

Prayer:

Father thank you for the plan from the beginning. I worship you because in your foreknowledge you made a way for a guy like me to be known and to know you. Thank you for holiness in Christ. May my life, actions, words and thoughts hit the mark of glorifying you today. May I trust in the leadership of your spirit and not my own abilities.

About goodlifefl

Loving People Enough to Share the Gospel and Life 1 Thess. 2:8 View all posts by goodlifefl

Leave a Reply

