Good Life Journal – 1 John 2

Scripture:

1John 2

2:We know that we have come to know him if we keep his commands. Whoever says, “I know him,” but does not do what he commands is a liar, and the truth is not in that person. But if anyone obeys his word, love for God is truly made complete in them. This is how we know we are in him. Whoever claims to love Him must live as Jesus did.

Observation:

John writes this letter to Christians in general. It is a follow-up to churches that he has already planted and given the Good News. Many false teachers and “antichrists” followed John’s teachings with untrue doctrines.

There are two items that I find striking. First, in this letter is the unequivocal statement that those who say they know Christ but do not follow his commands are liars. Second, is his definitive statement that, “if anyone loves the world, love for the father is NOT in them.” There are no gray areas there is no doubt. Either you love God, and not this world. Either you follow in absolute obedience to Jesus or love of the Father is NOT in you and your faith is a lie.

Application:

I am convicted this morning by absolutes. I am saved. Nothing will change that. But am I a liar? Do I claim Jesus but not follow all of his commands? Do I love the world, even a little? If my love for the Father is 80% but the love for the world is 20%, I am denying the Father of 20% of my love. The Father’s love for me is 100% at all times and deserves 100% of my love.

Also, if I claim to know Christ, am I obedient? Does God deserve my disobedience? Am I in the light or am I in the darkness? In what areas of my life am I a liar, not being obedient to God? I must search for areas in my life where I am not keeping God’s commands. For “ if anyone obeys his word, love for God is truly made complete in them”

Prayer:

Father, I am either 100% in light or I am in darkness. Help me to search my heart for areas in my life where I am disobedient or not following You 100%. Help me to find areas where I love the world more than I love You. I want to be made complete in Your love. Help me to start today to give You 100%.

– Don J

About goodlifefl

Loving People Enough to Share the Gospel and Life 1 Thess. 2:8 View all posts by goodlifefl

Leave a Reply

